04
Feb
10

Heidi Palmboom

Part of the strong Palmboom surfing family, Heidi is one of the top female surfers in the country. Her dad is a great surfer and her boet is red-hot, so here’s the scoop on Heidi.

Heidi from The Bluff

1. How old are you?

Sixteen.

2. Where were you born?

In Durban

3. Where did you learn to surf?

At Anstey’s Beach

4. Who are your favourite surfers in the world?

Mick Fanning and Taj

Heidi rates Fanning right up there.

Where is your favourite/best surf spot?

Ansteys. Also New Pier, Scottburgh ,and Keramas when I was in Bali.

5. Who makes your boards?

Clayton. He’s been making me some really good boards

6. What is your standard board dimensions?

5’7 x 18 x 2 3/16

7. What are your surfing goals?

To surf the WQS and WCT one day

8. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

Old, still surfing contests and living at home. Ha ha

9. What is wrong with surfing right now?

There aren’t as many contests as there used to be. There used to be one almost every weekend, but now there are hardly any contests left for the girls to surf.

10. What is the best thing about surfing?

It makes me happy, I get to do it with my friends, and there will always be something that you can try improve on

10. Where is your dream destination?

I had always wanted to go to Bali. I went there in July last year and would love to go back there again.

11. What irritates you the most when going surfing?

Anything that is capable of stinging me when I’m in the water ; getting rash from new grips; and people who think its normal to snake me on every wave

12. Who would you like to win the 2010 World Title?

Mick Fanning

13. Who is the most under-rated surfer that you know?

Slater. Ha ha

14. If you didn’t surf, what would you do?

Probably be a photographer or a chef

15.What is your favourite surf magazine or website?

Facebook.. ha ha. Its pretty much the only site I’m ever on. I read anything too.


0 Responses to “Heidi Palmboom”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


February 2010
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728